Reader Review: Shades Of Magic Series – V.E. Schwab

Shades Of Magic Series: ★★★★★  

A Darker Shade Of Magic [#1]: ★★★★★

A Gathering Of Shadows [#2]: ★★★★★

A Conjuring Of Light [#3]: ★★★★★  

I recently completed reading the somewhat renown ‘Shades Of Magic’ series by V.E. Schwab. Despite hearing endless good feedback about the series and seeing an array of love for it on social media, I wasn’t actually able to get my hands on the books to read them (and, admittedly, I was hesitant that the series and premise wouldn’t interest me in the first place).

However, despite not reading the books back to back, it took me only about 5 days to polish them all off – it’s safe to say that they completely enthralled me.

When I bought the first in the series, I was buying it due to its name and reputation alone. I hadn’t researched the plot or the characters – hell, I hardly even read the blurb, because I trusted that surely there would have to be something good about a book series that so many people are continuously raving about.

The first book grabbed me straight away – suddenly I was thrown into this universe referencing to different Londons in different worlds, all with a different outlook on magic. There was a character with a coat that seemed never-ending and a thief with a want to be a pirate, both sassy and both whom I’ve come to love and who I now miss that I’ve completed the series itself.

When it comes to the genre of fantasy, there’s a collection of ways in which it can be achieved – and this series definitely captures the high fantasy genre in the best way possible. The plot isn’t slow – the pace is riveting and kept me glued to the page, resulting in me being hidden away with my nose stuck in one of the books at all points during the day.

The world (or should I say worlds) are created so beautifully that you feel completely transported to one of these magical Londons – you feel as if you’re experiencing the story with Kell and Lila and all the other characters that you get to know so well along the way. You can feel the despise that Holland radiates, and you can relate to the witty comments that Rhy throws at his brother. In every way, these characters are memorable and notable, whether you love them or hate them – they’re going to stick with you for a long while after you’ve finished the books too.

The writing style is magical in itself – the words flow into each other and create an environment that, not only mirrors the characters in their separate narratives, but it creates the situation and brings it to life beyond the reader’s own imagination. The chapters are paced extremely well – allowing the story to proceed but continually keeps you on your toes.

There’s no doubt in my mind that my hesitation about picking up these books couldn’t have been further from the reality of how good this series really is. Not only is it going to be a great series for any fantasy and fiction genre lovers, it’s going to appeal to readers with interests outside of those genres as well just because of how well written and well-established the characters, story, and universe all are.

I can’t begin to imagine how I would feel if I had indeed missed out on getting a chance to read the series in its entirety and devote my full attention to it for days on end. I was transported into a world of incredible magic with characters that I personally feel close to. I know their wants, their beliefs, and the ways their minds work – which is all thanks to the writing style that the series encapsulates so well and how thoughtfully the book is plotted out with the different sections for the different character and story arcs themselves. 

To put it simply: I loved the ‘Shades Of Magic‘ series to such an extent that I didn’t even question whether it truly deserved a 5-star rating. I have no regrets about the series and will definitely be rereading it again in the future to re-experience it all over once more (and perhaps a couple more times after that too).

Thanks for reading this short review and I’ll write you later. 

If you like pirates, magic, and a crazy twist of a story that involves travelling between different worlds, I’d definitely recommend that you pick up this series as soon as possible.

Just want to see what all the fuss is about? Go ahead, you won’t be disappointed.

Spread The Love

Leave a Reply